Author Topic: Antique Stove?  (Read 3326 times)

d10d3

• View Profile
Antique Stove?
« on: August 13, 2012, 10:23:15 am »
Hi everyone,

My girlfriends parents have had this stove in their family for many years, its in mint condition and I'm trying to find more information about it. I don't know anything about stoves or antiques for that matter, I'm just getting into it. lol.

The front says "QUEBEC" on it as you can see in the picture but on the bottom edge it says "WINGHAM, ONT". From what I've been able to find its likely made by The Western Foundry Co. Ltd. in Wingham, Ontario, but I haven't been able to find any information or even pictures of any stoves that look similar! It definitely doesn't look that old to me but its in such good condition that I have no idea really. No other markings on it other than a NO. 2 at the top and inside the silver piece at the bottom there's the numbers 45-1011.

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

KC

• Forever Blessed!
    • View Profile
Re: Antique Stove?
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2012, 11:28:42 am »
Made by same mfg
http://northbay.yatbo.ca/forsale-a-other-a-a513492-a-ANTIQUE-WOOD-STOVE-WESTERN-FOUNDRY-CO-LIMITED-WINGHAM-ONTARIO

The stoves made by The Western Foundry Co. were featured in the T. Eaton catalogues across Canada from 1907 to 1965.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2012, 11:36:26 am by KC »
I'm from the South - but please don't mistake my Southern Manners/Accent/Charm as a weakness!

d10d3

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2012, 11:52:50 am »
Great thank you!

Any idea of approx age or value? The one that you linked looks like its a lot worse condition http://northbay.yatbo.ca/pics/ad_img/forsale/other/a513492.jpg and selling for $425 OBO. They were going to put it in a yard sale for $100 but I think they would keep it if its worth more.