Author Topic: Silver and Jade? Salt and pepper shakers. Chinese?  (Read 2227 times)

joemg311

• View Profile
Silver and Jade? Salt and pepper shakers. Chinese?
« on: October 20, 2014, 08:30:50 am »
Howdy folks. Haven't been around in a bit. New puppy and very pregnant wife have kept me busy and away from my antique habit. I happened to "find" an estate sale that was on the way to the hardware store and found this beautiful salt and pepper shaker set or ehh pepper shaker and salt spoon and container thingy :D

They measure about 1 1/2'' tall and 1 1/8'' in diameter. I'm no expert but it seems like the lid to the salt container is solid silver, and everything else is silver plate over maybe copper? The rim on the inside of one shake has a dent and some green coloring near the damage. The center cylinders are very heavy and solid stone. These are very similar to ones that sold on ebay as Chinese silver and Jade. I know it is hard to tell by pictures but any guesses as to age, origin and material?    ??? Thanks!

mart

• View Profile
Re: Silver and Jade? Salt and pepper shakers. Chinese?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2014, 06:09:46 pm »
Hi there and welcome back !!  Congrats on both the soon to be new member of the family and the new puppy !!  Post a pic of the baby when it gets here !! We know it won`t be an "antique" but what the heck,, we want to see it anyway !!  Oh,, and the puppy too !!   :D

What a neat salt cellar and pepper shaker !!  Are there no markings on any of them !!   The spoon would be the most likely to be sterling so look at it !!  Might need a magnifying glass !!

joemg311

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2014, 07:40:53 am »