Author Topic: Old small tilt top table, Can someone help identify ?  (Read 2166 times)

jasminne

• View Profile
Old small tilt top table, Can someone help identify ?
« on: August 03, 2009, 08:34:27 am »
I have a small table and would like to know if someone can help identify the type of wood and maybe give an approximate value? The table is about 24 inches tall.

I also have two matching Vase's, no markings on them, about 9 1/2 inches tall. These have a very pleasant high pitched ring. I am not an expert but I would think they are porcelain. I have searched for ages on these two vase's and can find nothing at all. If anyone can tell me anything I would be very grateful for your help.

I am trying to figure out how to make the photos smaller. I'll work on it. 

Tim

• View Profile
Re: Old small tilt top table, Can someone help identify ?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2009, 01:28:22 pm »
Your table appears to be Mahogany. Not too old, 1940 perhaps. Your vases appear to be Bristol glass.

KC

• Forever Blessed!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2009, 03:06:25 pm »
Maybe it's the light of the flash...but the table top looks newer?  Much lighter in comparison to the base than those I am used to seeing that are all original.

I am not sure if this is true "bristol glass"....but it is definitely opaque white....or milk glass. 

Anyone else?
I'm from the South - but please don't mistake my Southern Manners/Accent/Charm as a weakness!

ironlord1963

• View Profile
    • Ironlord's Treasure Chest
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2009, 03:24:09 pm »
I think this would be considered as milk glass.  I think that bristol glass is blue, not really 100% sure but will have to go look.

KC

• Forever Blessed!
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2009, 03:29:40 pm »
Bristol glass was made in different colors....white was around...but was so extremely delicate that it shattered easily.  There is Bristol Blue.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2009, 10:10:35 am by KC »