Author Topic: Madonna Statue  (Read 6300 times)

sapphire

• Without direction, we are lost.
    • View Profile
Re: Madonna Statue
« Reply #15 on: October 13, 2009, 09:04:05 pm »
I'm far from knowledgeable with any of this but from what I read from the link above from Onlinecollectibles it would appear this is a form of copy.  The name Sacra is associated with these.  Also, looking closely at the bee/V the bee on yours seems more articulated than that of the actual Hummel marks.

From this and the fact that all the searching I have done for a Hummel HM 33 mark only returns to that site or searching for a Hummel madonna brings up a **/* type mark leads me to believe yours is not actually produced by them but possibly by Ars Sacra around the period of WWII.

Like I said I have no experience in this field other than what I have been learning my short time here.   :)

Dean Perdue

• View Profile
« Reply #16 on: October 13, 2009, 09:14:17 pm »
Seems like your right Sapphire.
The marking not being exact and the name Sacra makes it look likely.
Great work in coming up with all this great and interesting information.
Thanks

KC

• Forever Blessed!
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: October 14, 2009, 10:41:28 am »
Okay....eating crow....Hummel did make Madonnas similar....can't say it made this. 

According to this site (half-way down) there are many questions about similar.....and it is suggested it is Goebel!  http://www.onlinecollectibles.com/faq/hummels.htm

and the most interesting http://www.thathomesite.com/forums/load/antiques/msg090257222183.html?3

Also, Replacements LTD does list a Madonna (which I did know about) but she is "Flower Madonna" and is extremely elaborate in intricate work!

ALSO  here's another one like yours http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320433228871
I'm from the South - but please don't mistake my Southern Manners/Accent/Charm as a weakness!

Dean Perdue

• View Profile
« Reply #18 on: October 14, 2009, 12:31:42 pm »
Thanks KC