Author Topic: help with value for victorian childs rocking chair commode  (Read 3354 times)

elora

• View Profile
help with value for victorian childs rocking chair commode
« on: October 21, 2009, 01:13:14 pm »
Hi everyone.. I am new to this and have very little knowledge about antiques. I am hoping someone here can help me. I was wondering if anyone could give me an idea, even a range in value for the attached childrens rocking chair. its a mahogany and leather deep buttoned chair commode, its victorian and in working order. It also has centre turned rails which are removable and kept in place by a turned wooden knob.
I would really appreciate your opinion on this. I have attached a pictiure.
many thanks
elora

wendy177

• View Profile
Re: help with value for victorian childs rocking chair commode
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2009, 03:52:23 pm »
Elora This appears to be if original  a Regency style mahogany child's rocker, c 1820-1830  I would guess around $600.00  on the low side  at auction with the right collector and  the right auction house. Beautiful piece  appears to be well kept, has it been in the family long???

elora

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2009, 04:38:20 pm »
thanks for your response wendy.. its actually for a competition in ireland.. www.winacavanhome.c om.. you need to enter the value of the chair to take part in the competition to win a 5 bedroom home on 3/4 acre in county cavan.. your reply narrows my guess somewhat..
thanks again

talesofthesevenseas

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2009, 05:23:08 pm »