Author Topic: Antique Single Pedestal Drafting Tables... are they sturdy and functional?  (Read 3006 times)

lesliesandler

• View Profile
Hello,

I am new to this forum, but an avid collector of all things vintage.  I am interested in getting an antique single pedestal cast iron base small drawing table to use for daily use.  I am an illustrator/painter/designer and want something functional that i can lean into, or put my weight on.

I am a small 100 lb woman if that makes any difference on sturdiness.  And I am looking at various ages and makers, but would love to know if there are things i should watch out for - dimensions, materials, brands.  Any estimates on price are welcome to.

I have tried to research this on my own far and low but found no information and haven't seen one in person as of yet.  Think of buying on ebay.

Thanks for looking and taking the time to read this!
LEslie

cogar

• View Profile
The sturdiness of any single pedestal table is dependent upon the length of the out-stretched legs. And said lengths of legs being measured at the floor via a vertical line from the top of the table. The weight of the table itself and the ends of the legs "marks" the "tipping" center of gravity on the table top. Thus, if excess weight is placed on the table past that "tipping center of gravity" it will tip over.

Therefore, if the legs on your Single Pedestal Drafting Table extend out within 5" or 6" of the edge of the table top then you shouldn't have any problem. That cast iron base alone might weigh as much as you do.

talesofthesevenseas

• View Profile
In all my 20 years of drafting, I never saw a pedastle drafting table. It doesn't make sense to me, to have a single pedastle that would likely rock when you erase, and would be a constant shin-knocker. Do you have a photo? I am wondering if this is something cobbled together. It sounds highly impractical to me. Here is a photo showing the draftsmen working on the drawings for the Titanic as an example: