Author Topic: Cat milk jug (creamer) - Delft or just Delft style?  (Read 2075 times)

ErinH

• View Profile
Cat milk jug (creamer) - Delft or just Delft style?
« on: June 06, 2010, 02:27:45 am »
Hello,

I am having a bit of a clear out and have come accross a cat milk jug.  I am trying to work out if there is any point trying to sell it or if I should just donate it.  From the bit of Googling that I have done I think that it is probably a Delft copy.

There is some writing on the base but I can't make it out, but there is a number 041905. 

Hope someone here can help!

Cheers,

Erin

fancypants

• View Profile
Re: Cat milk jug (creamer) - Delft or just Delft style?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2010, 10:19:30 pm »
Welcome to the forum , ErinH .

I'm curious to know how much liquid your item will hold , since you call it a milk pitcher ?

I don't recognize the mark , but I'm no expert on most cermaic marks .

I've seen 'imitation' delft items that folks buy , even knowing that it's only the 'style' of delft .

Who knows (I don't) , maybe 10 -20 bucks ?

Maybe others here will know .

Not a bad-looking creamer , actually .
" Methinks me the 'mental' in sentimental .... "

sapphire

• Without direction, we are lost.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2010, 05:22:56 am »
Welcome Erin.

No expert here, just doing a bit of searching for you.  I found this (below) using the same numbers marked on your cat.
While the shape is the same (not sure about the measurements) the decoration on yours is much more refined. They do
not show the base mark  making comparison impossible. The cat I found is an obvious fake......."Aruba", so I would have
to say that yours is either a much better produced one or possibly a Delft.

I'll keep looking around to see if there is anything more definitive. ;)

sapphire

• Without direction, we are lost.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2010, 05:57:01 am »
Quoting replies to a question of Royal Delft and 'other' Delft.......