Author Topic: 2 drawer cherry end table  (Read 2572 times)

firenze

• View Profile
2 drawer cherry end table
« on: October 24, 2010, 03:17:57 pm »
I earlier posted a question regarding (2) tables.
I have more photos so have separated the tables and created 2 postings.
This is the 2 drawer end table. Hope these shots give a better idea .
Thanks Liz

Oceans64

• View Profile
Re: 2 drawer cherry end table
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2010, 03:58:20 pm »
Am I seeing initials underneath the top of the table or is this just the wood?  Is there any writing underneath any of the drawers?  Can you tell if it has ever been refinished?  When you look inside is there any evidence of repair work?

Pics of the top would be good.  

I'm no expert - not even close - just spent hours researching a similar one of my own so take this for what it's worth. My first glance opinion is this table is Sheraton Style and probably from the early to mid 1800's.  I may be wrong but the wood knobs are usually associated with the Victorian Era altho they were used earlier as well.  You see these Mahogany tables run the spectrum on cost.  I see them often for $200 (bit more $ with 2 drawers) and all the way up in the thousands.  Honestly, I have yet to determine what causes the gap in pricing.  

Edited because sometimes I'm rather idiotic and asked for things already posted  :)
« Last Edit: October 24, 2010, 04:12:16 pm by Oceans64 »
"In times like these, it is helpful to remember that there have always been times like these." — Paul Harvey

firenze

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2010, 08:35:07 am »
I see no evidence of repair work. Also, no markings, initials, etc.   And, I would say almost certainly that it was
refinished at some recent time.
Thanks for the post  Liz

hosman321

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2010, 09:00:44 am »