Author Topic: Janney, Semple Hill Co. double barrel Invincible 12g  (Read 4933 times)

Kevin06

• View Profile
Janney, Semple Hill Co. double barrel Invincible 12g
« on: August 17, 2011, 06:52:57 pm »
New info on and old gun that was found in a barn here in Texas it has INVINCIBLE down the middle of the two barrels  on the side it says Janney, Semple Hill Co Minneapolis Minnisota ive looked for info on this gun and so far seems like its pretty old pretty rare not much info on it if anyone could help lemme know if i have  a treasure or a just some house decor thanks.

CuriousCollector

• View Profile
Re: Janney, Semple Hill Co. double barrel Invincible 12g
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2011, 07:08:13 pm »
Janney started out as a wholesale hardware store in Minnesota.  The "invincible" refers to a barrel upgrade that was an option in shotguns like this.  I'm no expert, but a quick search of Janney double barrel shotguns reveals that even fancy ones go for little money ($100 for one with an inlaid silver hunting dog, for example).  Likely, it was a gun you could purchase from the Janney hardware catalog.  I've got a catalog-bought black-powder double-barrel shotgun, and it's worth maybe a hundred bucks.  The "invincible" upgrade makes it a little more heavy duty -- mine is the el-cheapo stock catalog gun, one known for a barrel so cheaply made that it often exploded or twisted with regular use.

Kevin06

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2011, 03:01:39 am »