Author Topic: Old ceramic plate  (Read 2515 times)

Wouwtert

• View Profile
Old ceramic plate
« on: August 16, 2011, 04:03:46 am »
Hello everyone,

I'm from Holland (the Netherlands) and some time ago I came across an old ceramic plate. I have not the slightest clue where it is from, what's it for and if it has any value. The only thing I do tend to know is that it's old. As you can see the front is coloured, but the back also has a kind of drawing.

Here are the pictures:

Can anyone help me with some (any) information?

Kind regards,

Wouter

hosman321

• View Profile
Re: Old ceramic plate
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2011, 04:34:28 am »
Oh my, that is gorgeous! While I am not an expert, I don't think this is some modern reproduction/fake that was made to look old. I am also a little confused why the bottom has that design, hopefully someone can tell you and I both what it is. :) May I ask where you purchased/found it? Welcome to the forum. ;)

Wouwtert

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2011, 07:35:41 am »
Offcourse, I got it from Marktplaats.nl, a kind of dutch ebay. I payed 10 euro's...

wendy177

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2011, 09:04:14 am »
could you please give us the size of your piece.

ironlord1963

• View Profile
    • Ironlord's Treasure Chest
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2011, 09:08:59 am »
    I think what you have is a trivet, and I also agree from the pics it is old, at least before the days of mass production.  I would have to guess at late 19th maybe mid, but this is just a guess, Nice piece for sure.

Wouwtert

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2011, 09:16:06 am »
It's quiet big, radius is 25cm exact. Any ideas about the value attached?

ironlord1963

• View Profile
    • Ironlord's Treasure Chest
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2011, 09:36:11 am »