Author Topic: age of old family rocking chair?  (Read 2220 times)

JoshandLila

• View Profile
age of old family rocking chair?
« on: December 10, 2011, 01:16:42 pm »
Hi folks! My parents gave me this rocking chair a few weeks ago and told me it had been in the family a long time.. can anyone recognize the style? the cushion and springs are a separate box unit from the rest of the chair, Im no expert but I havent seen that befor. the arm appears to have been repaired where I circled it but it fits so perfectly its hard to tell. Some of the hardware ( angel brackets under they arms ) seems like it was added later for support but Im not sure. thanks for any info!!  :) :)
« Last Edit: December 10, 2011, 01:19:50 pm by JoshandLila »
"Human history becomes more and more a race between education and catastrophe."
H. G. Wells

Rauville

• View Profile
Re: age of old family rocking chair?
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2011, 04:01:52 pm »
I would place the age back to the early 1920's, when the arts and craft style was popular.
Yours is interesting with that cutout in the back splat.

Oceans64

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2011, 05:06:42 pm »
Definitely reminiscent of Gustav Stickley style of furniture.  That cutout is not something I have seen with his chairs (only seen a few) but here is one that has it: http://www.greencraftsmandesigns.com/about%20Gustav%20Stickley%20American%20champion%20of%20the%20arts%20and%20crafts%20movement.html

Stickley furniture can bring a premium (to say the least) but proving it can be tough without a signature and there are tons and tons of look alike chairs from that era.  That said, folks with craftsman style homes love, love, love this style - Can't blame them!  ;D
"In times like these, it is helpful to remember that there have always been times like these." — Paul Harvey

mart

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2011, 05:56:44 pm »