Author Topic: Antique Mirror  (Read 1852 times)

jmyers10

• View Profile
Antique Mirror
« on: April 10, 2012, 12:10:55 pm »
I have a large antique mirror that I need help learning about. The frame needs repaired but the glass is not chipped or cracked. It is a very large mirror (over 6 ft tall and 4 ft wide). I am told the glass is a very old lead glass (this is extremely heavy). I want to sell it but need some help to find out what to ask for it. Please, I am not an antique professional at all and need your help. I have many pictures. I was told the mirror was possibly made in late 1700's or early 1800's. It has a label someone put on it showing it was once owned by someone named Mary in Kingsland and is 1 of a pair.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2012, 01:04:33 pm by jmyers10 »

mart

• View Profile
Re: Antique Mirror
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2012, 06:16:59 pm »
We will try to help if we can !! Can you post pics of front and back as well as the label !! One close up of a back corner would also be good !!  But keep in mind that glass itself can not normally be traced to any maker in particular and unless marked,, same for the frame,, so what we need to look at is the whole package,, mirror and frame !! Hopefully we can try to date it by the style !!

jmyers10

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2012, 01:13:59 pm »
Mart,

Thank you for your help. I have added some pics here. There is no label by the maker on the mirror that I can find. I believe the wood on the backing may have been replaced a long time ago. The frrame appears to be plaster and has many cracked and broken pieces from it. I have most if not all broken pieces from the frame.

jmyers10

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2012, 01:17:26 pm »
More pics including the back and lower corners

mart

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2012, 02:41:03 pm »