Author Topic: What is this??? Please help!  (Read 3498 times)

KC

• Forever Blessed!
    • View Profile
Re: What is this??? Please help!
« Reply #15 on: April 18, 2013, 11:19:58 pm »
Ditto....doesn't look like the quality.

Pretty box though!
I'm from the South - but please don't mistake my Southern Manners/Accent/Charm as a weakness!

Joshtully

• View Profile
« Reply #16 on: April 19, 2013, 12:51:31 am »
The pictures don't really do the box any justice, in hand you can see the fine workmanship of each piece of wood laid in, and the ( tiles) look like mother of pearl to me, and the mosaic around the edges are made up from different material, either bone or ivory, I only say this because you can see the typical hair like fibre structure of the tiles, but again!!! I'm no expert, all your help has been a fantastic insight! And I'll take it along to the antique shop and see what they say. Ok let's say it is tunbridge..... How much would it be worth? Just so I don't get ripped off if I ever part with it! Again, thanks a bunch guys!

Ipcress

« Reply #17 on: April 19, 2013, 05:34:10 am »
Guys, it's Tunbridge, not Turnbridge.

The box isn't new. I'd go as far to say it could be a century old. The marquetry is good but there appears to be some loss to the red detail on the lid ? ( the red detail intrigues me to be honest. Has no place on that box other than to signify something )

However, without provenance or attribution to someone it's worth is little compared to the work that went into it. I'd be keeping it but £15-30 would be an estimate. It is a tad small.

http://www.liveauctioneers.com/item/1301955

That sold for £70 ( which seems a bit low so maybe it was damaged ) and i think you can compare the quality.

bigwull

• lick you to death
    • View Profile
« Reply #18 on: April 19, 2013, 06:32:49 am »