Author Topic: Old Duet Figurine, Hummel/Goebel, other?  (Read 5480 times)

ghopper1924

• View Profile
Re: Old Duet Figurine, Hummel/Goebel, other?
« Reply #15 on: May 27, 2013, 11:26:50 am »
I went to a Hummel auction with a big collector about 4 years ago, and he was shocked at how much value his collection had lost. And this pre-dates the general collapse of the antique market.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2013, 05:36:40 am by ghopper1924 »
"I collect antiques because they're beautiful."

-Broderick Crawford

Buddie11

• View Profile
« Reply #16 on: May 28, 2013, 01:30:48 pm »
Second one looks like a Hummel to me.

mart

• View Profile
« Reply #17 on: May 28, 2013, 07:16:25 pm »
Second mark I think is Goebel,,but not Hummel !!  Everyone forgets that William Goebel had been using this mark before his association with Hummel in 1935 !!

Buddie11

• View Profile
« Reply #18 on: May 28, 2013, 07:57:19 pm »
So mart,you are dating it earlier than 1935. I'm far from an expert on this topic,just posting what my trusty?book says.

mart

• View Profile
« Reply #19 on: May 28, 2013, 08:41:33 pm »
I would think so since it is Goebel and marked as such,, but anything that was designed by M.I. Hummel according to their agreement had her name on it,, even the trial runs were required to have it written in her handwriting !!  It is known that William Goebel used this mark at least 12 years prior to his agreement with the convent !!  This is not my area either but its easy info to find !!  Everyone just naturally associates the two Goebel/Hummel but he was making things like this earlier !!

wendy177

• View Profile
« Reply #20 on: May 29, 2013, 07:20:44 am »