Author Topic: Mahjong Set  (Read 2172 times)

Vwdoyle

• View Profile
Mahjong Set
« on: April 05, 2015, 09:17:57 am »

Hi Guys!

Is there anyone familiar with these sets that could determine an approximate age and/or value.  In my research I have found them ranging from $20-$1,000 and they all look very similar.  I'm not sure if the tile holders are from the same set.  To me they look newer.  Any help would be great.

Thank you!

Vwdoyle

• View Profile
Re: Mahjong Set
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2015, 09:18:48 am »
More pics

jerryk

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2015, 10:48:57 am »
Nice set, Im no expert but i found a set with lesser character then yours , as i recall the numbered sticks were made of bone and it  sold for over 300 at auction, 1920's period. If you have the count sticks and the original dice that helps in my opinion. If the tiles are solid and no wood in the center of the tiles with a dove tail i would say they are newer? perhaps  i'll be corrected on this by someone in the forum

Vwdoyle

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2015, 12:09:07 pm »
Thanks Jerry!

I do have the counting sticks and dice with the set.  The tiles are dovetailed with bamboo and I'm guessing bone.  Do you think the holders are part of the same set? 

jerryk

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2015, 12:26:04 pm »
I cant say if the holders are original again no expert , but if they fit like a glove in the box i would say they are and they look solid and color looks to match . You have a nice set really , again much more detail then what i had when i sold them online. The set i had was fairly simple in comparison to yours just a solid box with drawers no writing or markings. I think you would get a nice sale on those, ebay or other channels. 

talesofthesevenseas

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2015, 11:51:55 am »