Author Topic: Louis era French one arm chair  (Read 4355 times)

luxetveritas

• View Profile
Louis era French one arm chair
« on: July 05, 2009, 12:08:24 pm »
Hi, I recently bought a chair at a garage sale for $400 and would like to know some more about it, including age and value. I believe it to be a Louis period piece, although I have never seen a chair like it. It is in great condition, but I can't find a makers mark. The chair seat is oblong and fairly wide. The back has a hand painted courting scene, and I believe all of the "carving work" is plaster molding? Not really sure. Anyway, any information members have would be so appreciated!

talesofthesevenseas

• View Profile
Re: Louis era French one arm chair
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2009, 01:21:30 pm »
Hey forum guys, isn't this a "bustle chair" designed for ladies with bustle dresses to be able to perch on rather than sitting? (I'm not an expert, just an enthusiast)
Antiqueaholic in recovery

D&b antiques

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2009, 01:53:10 pm »
Yes it is. manner's were very primpy & proper. in the 1860's 70's a lady could'nt stand up constantly, louis the 15th it would sell in the $600.00 Dollar range.

luxetveritas

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2009, 02:03:15 pm »
So this chair is from the Louis XV period? If so, I would have assumed its value would be far higher than simply $600. In addition, for some of you who are enthusiasts or experts, this chair really is an 18th century piece, correct? D&b antiques mentions 1860's and 70's, but Louis XV would be 1730's to 70's, or do you think this is a "remake" from the mid 19th? Thanks again for your help with my "bustle chair"!

KC

• Forever Blessed!
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2009, 02:28:36 pm »
Totally agree....it is a "bustle-back" chair.  I am going to one up D&b and say it's value could be $800+ depending on condition and area of the country you are in.