Author Topic: Antique Cobalt Plates... That's about all I know!  (Read 2873 times)

mellylou

• View Profile
Antique Cobalt Plates... That's about all I know!
« on: July 27, 2009, 02:14:07 am »
So, I found these plates in a hospice shop about a year ago for $14 and although I am really a novice collector, I've been lucky to get the "feel" for things collectible. I've held onto this pair of what I believe to be called "cobalt plates." There is no hallmark, although the back has holes for display and the plates are rather petite (6 1/4" diameter), which leads me to believe that they have always been meant more as paintings, than for practical uses (i.e.-eating, etc.). They are beautiful and ornate but the realism is primitive and folky. One plate is a depiction of a maritime daytime scene, the other is a tranquil night scene with a crescent moon and waterfall. I'm guessing they are probably European (Austrian?) and maybe 150 years? I'm floundering here and speculating. Yet, I've found nothing within a year that is comprable to these two in style, which always leads me to believe that they are in fact special (at least they are to me). I can't seem to sell these because I am simply attached, but I am a newly graduated design student, so if they're worth a lot, I might need to!

www.melissaloucaste llano.com/thistledown/IMG_4505.jpg

www.melissaloucaste llano.com/thistledown/IMG_4506.jpg

www.melissaloucaste llano.com/thistledown/IMG_4507.jpg

Thank you for your time and any help, is very much appreciated! I am more curious than anything, as I'm pretty sure I will keep them.

Melissa

regularjoe2

• View Profile
Re: Antique Cobalt Plates... That's about all I know!
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2009, 05:01:30 pm »
My little 2 cents worth is that I think these are much more like Armenian designs (grape leaves are a indicator of this) , rather than what you suspect they are , mellylou .

I will comment that your plates don't appear to be of the age you mentioned .