Author Topic: New to antiques, can't find ID for china  (Read 1998 times)

subourbonite

• View Profile
New to antiques, can't find ID for china
« on: July 26, 2009, 04:24:13 pm »
Hi all, I am not an antique expert; my wife recently found a plate she'd been given by her aunt years ago, and I'm curious to try and track down its history.

The piece is a simple plate with a bird carrying a swastika at the top, with the initials "LW" in the center.  On the back it says "Hutschenreuther Selb", followed by a lion and the initials "LHS".  Beneath this it says "Bavaria, Germany" and "24 1/2".

I did some research on the company and tracked down the basic history of LHS, but I'm very curious and confused by the bird and swastika on the front - I have no idea where my wife's aunt could have even found something like this.  I can post a photo if it would help.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2009, 04:34:11 pm by subourbonite »

KC

• Forever Blessed!
    • View Profile
Re: New to antiques, can't find ID for china
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2009, 07:15:25 pm »
Company information  http://www.mygrannysatticantiques.com/html/porcelain_pottery_china_marks_1.htm

Great source of information about wartime china and states that this type of dinnerware is bountiful in Europe.
http://www.germaniainternational.com/army23.html

Interestingly enough 24 1/2 is indicated on several patterns so it isn't a pattern number!  Must be a certain line.

You can go through replacements.com and they have several hundred patterns listed for this company.  You "may" find your specific pattern information there.

I'm from the South - but please don't mistake my Southern Manners/Accent/Charm as a weakness!

Chris_Marshall

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2009, 06:09:13 am »
Just my two cents: