Author Topic: Chinese Furniture/Student Paper  (Read 1825 times)

massdog69

Chinese Furniture/Student Paper
« on: September 26, 2009, 04:21:11 pm »
Hi everyone!

I'm a History student at Baker University in Baldwin City, KS. I'm doing a research project on three pieces of furniture that is Chinese in design. I think it is from before 1900, and it was owned by a rich family in Topeka, KS. The university bought it in 1953 after the wife passed. If anyone can help me in any way it would be greatly appreciated. You can email me directly at jaysonmassey@hotmail.com .

« Last Edit: September 26, 2009, 04:22:42 pm by massdog69 »

ironlord1963

• View Profile
    • Ironlord's Treasure Chest
Re: Chinese Furniture/Student Paper
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2009, 04:29:24 pm »
Wow those are stunning massdog, can't wait to see tales drool over these, she will love see these I'm sure.  I know very little about furniture, but just had to say welcome and those are stunning.

massdog69

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2009, 04:44:19 pm »
Yeah, that's why I decided to doing a paper on these pieces becaseu they are very cool!

KC

• Forever Blessed!
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2009, 11:11:33 pm »
massdog, welcome.  They are all beautiful but the chair (last picture) is breathtaking.  Will forward to a friend.
I'm from the South - but please don't mistake my Southern Manners/Accent/Charm as a weakness!

talesofthesevenseas

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2009, 12:15:53 am »
*Wipes up puddle of drool at her feet*

Very, very beautiful. But definitely out of my league. I'm surprised to see what look to be machine made screws in the one photo. I'm wondering if that was a later repair?

I hate to keep referring people off-site, but I'm going to have to defer to John and Eugene at http://www.chineseantiquefurnitureshop.com/videos.html Drop them an email, I'm sure they can give you a much better assessment than I could, they've been very helpful to me.