Author Topic: English dining room inquiry  (Read 2962 times)

argentinegal

English dining room inquiry
« on: March 20, 2010, 11:18:54 am »
I bought this English dining room in Argentina, the table is extendable and it has 6 chairs, I paid a total of $215 dollars for the whole set. I've been doing a research and I believe this is of the Georgian style period (17th - early 18th century)  but then again I'm not sure since I'm not very familiar with antiques yet. I'd like to know its year and value (I know it's gotta cost way more than what I paid for it). :)

« Last Edit: March 21, 2010, 05:54:05 am by argentinegal »

talesofthesevenseas

• View Profile
Re: English dining room inquiry
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2010, 11:30:21 am »
I'm not an expert, so let the others chime in on this, but your set looks to me as if it is machine manufactured, rather than handmade. The legs were turned on a lathe and my understanding of those is that although they were around for centuries, they were not in common use until the late 1800's. Also in the backs of the chairs, they look two perfectly symmetrical to be a handmade set. I also don't see a lot of signs of wear in places like the tops of the backs of the chair where hands would move them, and on the legs where they would get bumped around. It also looks pretty shiney, but that could be the flash. I would expect a dull glow from something very old. It's a beautiful set at a terrific price though! But I'm going to take a guess that it's a bit later, and I'm going to give myself a big range here because I'm learning and don't know what I'm doing yet, LOL! I'm going to say earliest 1890's and latest 1940's. Someone please pick up from here. I'm out on a limb! :-)
Antiqueaholic in recovery

KC

• Forever Blessed!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2010, 01:54:55 pm »
Great work there talesof.

I am betting early 1900's. 

Nice set argentinagal!  You did good for that price!  Hope you enjoy it!