Author Topic: New to collecting, need input on estate sale items  (Read 1932 times)

DKott21

• View Profile
New to collecting, need input on estate sale items
« on: September 07, 2011, 10:06:48 am »
I'm new to collecting. I will be going to my first estate sale Saturday. On the website it shows pictures of everything there and common sense tells me there are some nice collectibles and high valued items. I've tried researching and finding these items but was unsuccessful. If you happen to have some free time, I would appreciate it if you could skim through some of these pictures from the link given and tell me what you think.

http://www.estatesales.net/estate-sales/213069.aspx

fancypants

• View Profile
Re: New to collecting, need input on estate sale items
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2011, 10:37:49 am »
Welcome to the forum , DKott21 .

Perhaps you might give us an idea about what types (furn.,china,tools,glass, etc) of items that you're wanting to start collecting &/or buying from the sale ?

I began to go through images from your link , but the site froze up on me .... looked like a fair amount of vintage (& newer) stuff , as far as I got .....
" Methinks me the 'mental' in sentimental .... "

hudsonhacker

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2011, 11:09:48 am »
Determine what interests you. It makes it easier to do the research!

List the items you are interested in and do as much research as possible prior to the auction. Sometimes you get things super cheap, and other times they go for double their market value. As a buyer, you need to know what you are bidding on or it can be an expensive learning process.

Do not get into an ego war. Winning the piece you want is important, but you need to win it at the right price!