Author Topic: LOOKING FOR HELP IDENTIFYING OLD COIN / MEDALLION  (Read 4954 times)

maxstuh

• View Profile
LOOKING FOR HELP IDENTIFYING OLD COIN / MEDALLION
« on: July 27, 2012, 03:59:35 pm »
Hi There!

This is my first time posting. I have an old coin / medallion, and I unfortunately do not know anything about it. It is in a different language...maybe Latin? There is some detailed engraving on each side of the piece, but it has worn over time and it is difficult to read. There is a triangle with lines through it on one side, and the other side says, I believe, "alphard...something ." I looked up "alphard" and it is the brightest star in the constellation Hydra. Perhaps this is some sort of astrological medallion? As far as size, the piece is just a bit larger than a US quarter and 3-4 times the weight. I have always wondered what this might be, and I am hoping one of you might be able to help me out. I have searched everywhere online and I can't even find another image of this triangle symbol. Hmmm...

Have any of you ever seen anything like this? I am not sure if it is extremely old or just heavily worn. It is made of a heavy metal...silver maybe? Apologies, it is a bit dirty in the attached photos. I don't want to clean it if it is old. 

I HAD TROUBLE UPLOADING IMAGES TO THIS FORUM, BUT THEY CAN BE VIEWED VIA THIS LINK:

http://www.coinforums.com/world-ancient-coins/1201-looking-help-identifying-old-coin-medallion.html

THANKS FOR ANY HELP! 

ghopper1924

• View Profile
Re: LOOKING FOR HELP IDENTIFYING OLD COIN / MEDALLION
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2012, 05:45:32 pm »
I can't get a clear enough view to identify the language, but the work looks like it was done by hand.
"I collect antiques because they're beautiful."

-Broderick Crawford

maxstuh

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2012, 05:52:22 pm »