Author Topic: Bed Frame from LC & WL Cron Co - how "antique" is it?  (Read 8021 times)

Evelyn

• View Profile
Bed Frame from LC & WL Cron Co - how "antique" is it?
« on: September 22, 2012, 02:26:30 am »
Hi - I'm a newbie, and am throwing myself upon your collective mercy :) in hope of an answer to this question:

I recently bought a (very) used walnut-veneer bedframe, and was starting to clean it up when I noticed a partial label(!). It's a little tough to decipher, but it seems to be from the LC & WL Cron Company in Piqua, Ohio. In fact, it seems very similar to one in the thread that brought me to this forum http://www.antique-shop.com/forums/index.php?topic=6598.0  (except I think that bed's veneer is in much better shape than mine :) ).

But now I'm a little afraid to do the cleaning & repairs that the bed needs, for fear of destroying some of its antique value. Some of the veneer is peeling like birchbark, and I'd planned to remove it and just sand & finish the less-glamourous-but-still-solid wood underneath; but now I'm worried that I would be committing some sort of grave historic disservice.

(FWIW, D&b antiques estimated the bed in the linked thread above to worth about $250. The dealer I bought mine from had originally priced it at $275, later knocked it down to $225, and then - because they're about to move the entire business to a new warehouse - gave it to me for the "take my bed frame, please" price of $100. I bought it mainly to hold my mattress & box springs up off the floor, and because the wood is beautiful, rather than for any antique value.)

Maybe I'm worried for nothing - after all, I'd be hard put to find a similar bed frame brand-new for $250. But it'd sure be nice to have someone who knows more about antiques than I do (i.e., almost anyone on this forum) say so. :)
I'm not old.  I'm Mid-Century Modern.

cogar

• View Profile
Re: Bed Frame from LC & WL Cron Co - how "antique" is it?
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2012, 03:34:21 am »