Author Topic: Ger Sil Marking on Bone Handled Carving Set  (Read 2802 times)

GlobalShoutTreasures

• View Profile
Ger Sil Marking on Bone Handled Carving Set
« on: November 11, 2012, 12:05:53 pm »
Hello - I'm new to the forum. I joined because I found some useful information via a Google search, and I thought someone might have some feedback on a piece I just picked up. It's a 3-piece carving set with "bone" handles, and the base of the knife is marked with "GER SIL," which I've found on a post on this forum means "German Silver". I read that German Silver refers to some sort of silver plate, not sterling. First, is that correct? Second, is there a way to tell from looking what kind of bone the handles are made from? (The knife handle is significantly lighter in color than the other two.) Third, does anyone have any clue how old these pieces could be or where they're from? The "GER SIL" mark is the only one. They show a great deal of wear.

I'm new to the antique/collectible world, and I've learned a lot, but I'd really appreciate a little direction, if anyone knows anything! Thanks!

ironlord1963

• View Profile
    • Ironlord's Treasure Chest
Re: Ger Sil Marking on Bone Handled Carving Set
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2012, 12:17:13 pm »
      Nice set of Stag Horn with Nickle Silver.  German Silver is Nickle silver, not exactly Silverplate.  German Silver was made and used as a base metal for silverplate, so when the plate worn away it would still have a silver tone, before that copper was the base metal and when the plate was gone you would see Copper.  Anyway these are mostly refered as Stag Horn. As for age just Nickle silver dates these to early century at most, I would gamble more like Mid or Early Late Century in date.  Are there any other markes like Soligen etc.?  Hope that helps.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2012, 12:19:07 pm by ironlord1963 »

ironlord1963

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2012, 12:20:29 pm »