Author Topic: antique candlesticks - perhaps 17th or 18th century British brass?  (Read 2560 times)

nwebb

• View Profile
Newbie here with a pair of candlesticks that have been in my family since at least the 1930s.

They appear to be brass, have a hexagonal base and are covered in what looks like rococo style design that looks like it could be English or early North American style cottages and family scenes. Rural, farming looking village people, plenty of paisely like swirls and pretty designs as well, from my point of view.

I have done some reading on antique candlesticks in general and understand that the facts that they are an identical pair, appear to be cast of a single piece of metal (have a round hole inside from which to eject the butt), and are a shade under six inches high are of some note. Seems they could be as old as the 1760's but could be some sort of replication as well, although my gut feeling is that they are the real deal.

My family history might be of some note as well. I've traced my roots back to the west midlands area of Oxfordshire. My line came to New York from Liverpool in 1822, stayed for a number of years upstate, and then came to their intended destination of Hamilton Ontario, or what was then Upper Canada in 1830. And stayed in Canada ever since.

My father passed ten years ago and all his siblings are long gone as well, unfortunately, so there are few memories and sources of information from which to draw upon.

I would be so grateful for some more hints or tips so I might solve this mystery over the holidays, while they are out for all the family to see.

happy holidays and thank you!

« Last Edit: December 09, 2012, 10:39:55 pm by nwebb »

nwebb

• View Profile
Re: antique candlesticks - perhaps 17th or 18th century British brass?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2012, 11:45:03 pm »