Author Topic: Fenton Carnival Glass?  (Read 7066 times)

owzitgarn

• View Profile
Fenton Carnival Glass?
« on: March 29, 2013, 11:05:05 am »
Hi All!

I'm very new to all of this so sorry if i come across a bit naive.

We've recently cleared out a house, and from looking around on the web we believe we may have a fenton carnival glass bowl.

The inside pattern appears to match the inside of google images for fenton bowls, but the shape of the bowl and the underside do not.

image share

upload img

What do people think? Is it worth anything?

owzitgarn

• View Profile
Re: Fenton Carnival Glass?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2013, 11:09:11 am »
Also, this seems to have the same sort of shiny, rainbowy surface, although it didn't come out as well on the photo, is this carnival glass?

photo hosting

frogpatch

• View Profile
    • Gary Cunnane
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2013, 11:40:42 am »
What makes you think they are Fenton and not the original older pieces? Northwood produced the same grape pattern with basketweave in amethyst. Is there any trace of a mark on the bottom like a small circle with an N? Fenton was mostly produced in the latter hale of the century. Early carnival was produced in the first quarter of the century. Was there other old items in the house? It is really hard to tell form the pictures. Wear is not always present on old pieces. I had a water set that looked like it was made yesterday and was signed Northwood. I can't enlarge your picture because it is a share and sak me to download it which I won't do for security reasons.

Rauville

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2013, 11:50:24 am »
I agree with frogpatch..
Northwood used a basketweave pattern on the outside of some of their "Grape and Cable" pieces. What is the size of yours?

Your second piece is a marigold "Double Stem Rose" bowl by Dugan.

owzitgarn

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2013, 12:12:29 pm »
Thanks for the replies!