Author Topic: 3 "Asian" Pieces  (Read 4539 times)

JakeJo

• View Profile
3 "Asian" Pieces
« on: November 03, 2013, 06:26:07 pm »
You all were so amazing before I thought I'd run a few pieces by you I picked up at an estate sale. These are all pieces that may be Chinatown remakes, but I can't tell. They do look old, and I know that even some Chinatown remakes are "legit" in terms of whether or not some basic casual collectors like them, so I picked them up. I was wondering if anyone could even identify the ashtray at all given that it has no markings, and whether or not the snuff bottles do/should have any value. It does look like the stoppers are replacements, although I'm no expert. Don't worry about me getting ripped off. I spent very, very little and I like keeping these for myself if they end up being worthless. They're still pretty.

An estimated value would be amazing as well, but unnecessary.

PS - Also, one other random question. I have a large seemingly genuine gavel from 1957. It has the term "Art and Garden Section" on it. I'm pretty sure it's real, but I can't think of a price point. Any thoughts?

mart

• View Profile
Re: 3 "Asian" Pieces
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2013, 07:05:02 pm »
I don`t have a clue but they are neat finds !! Like those snuff bottles !! Bet KC will know !!

JakeJo

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2013, 08:07:40 pm »
Thanks! I have so many more neat things I found but I don't want to spam the board. Found some art, army clothes, and more. I'm sure some are worthless, but when you can walk away with boxes and boxes of stuff for less than $50 it's always a great day. Estate sales are fun. I just wish I knew more people that could identify these items in person so I didn't have to always ask here!

mart

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2013, 08:55:52 pm »
Estate sales here are way overpriced !!

icedgold10

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2013, 09:18:07 pm »