Author Topic: RC Allen Adding Machine  (Read 3899 times)

Liveoutdoors9

• View Profile
RC Allen Adding Machine
« on: March 15, 2014, 07:04:56 pm »
New to the forum. Excited to tool around. Being a CPA I ended up finding an old RC Allen adding machine at an estate sale today for $20. Been finding them all over the internet but none exactly like the one I have. It's a "66" in red with two red buttons. I either see a white "66" with two red buttons or a red "66" with one red button. Not looking to resell, but I'm curious to know the age of it and what it's worth (more so the age). Just a cool conversation piece that still works well. I'm working on attaching a picture.

Any info is appreciated. Thanks!

Anthony
« Last Edit: March 15, 2014, 07:09:42 pm by Liveoutdoors9 »

mart

• View Profile
Re: RC Allen Adding Machine
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2014, 07:14:32 pm »
Have you checked on ebay ??

Liveoutdoors9

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2014, 07:21:51 pm »
Yea. Ton of them on there. Lots that look similar, but nothing the same. I'm looking more for the history of the machine. When it was manufactured than I am for the price though. I'm not too fond of eBay pricing either. Everything is "rare," "vintage," and "hard to find" on it. Prices are absurd for some things too.

cmlindb

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2014, 07:26:44 pm »
Ebay can be a good pricing method if you take an average of sold listings, current list prices not sold, and auction prices... if it is rare it is really no help though
Check this out... Probably at least 200 years old based on the amount of garbage that was in the dumpster around it.

Liveoutdoors9

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2014, 07:29:22 pm »
True. Always end up not checking the sold. CM, trying to see you profile picture. Semper Fi?

mart

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2014, 07:44:06 pm »