Author Topic: Anybody knowledge about antique oil paintings? Worth restoring?  (Read 4128 times)

Chrislondo-London

• View Profile
Hi to all. I'm a working professional and in the weekend I'm a hobby wannabe antique collector.
Like everybody I also hope to found a good painting of a desirable artist.  

I bought this painting A couple of weeks here in the UK and didn't looked at it in till today.  It had a modern frame so I took it out for examination. I could not find a signature on it but the painting is clearly old as you can see the cracks of age in the oil paint, so this means that its clearly older than the frame it sat in.   I would like to approx. date it and maybe the artist?? (I know its a long shot but maybe the style can tell you something)
I'm also interested in the meaning, subject, message of this painting.

You can see a family with their dog walking or traveling on a open pad trough the woods. If you also look closer you can see two other figures on the right hand side of the painting. You wouldnt see this in the beginning if you dint look twice. The two figures are dresses in black, maybe a man and woman and it looks like they are hiding in the shadow of the woods.
Does this got to do something with good and bad? I dont know.

You can see that the canvas is kept together with different hand forced nails.
This gives me the impression its was painted in the 19th century, but when I had a closer look I could see that its not painted on the canvas that surrounds the framework, It is painted on canvas and this piece of canvas is cleud on the canvas aso around the frame, does this means it could be earlier? maybe 18th century?

I know its all about details so I have in this link below more detailed pictures
hope It will put light on this case.
Many thank in advance.
http://jpegbay.com/gallery/004200482-.html#1
« Last Edit: February 16, 2015, 11:35:26 am by Chrislondo-London »

mart

• View Profile