Author Topic: 2 Clocks, A Silver Mirror, Charles Lindburg Portrait, & Lot's of Questions  (Read 942 times)

runswithcolors

• View Profile
Hello everyone,

I'm looking for some help and information.  I was given 2 clocks, a silver mirror, and a Charles Lindburg portrait.  I'm attempting to do some research online but I am getting confused as I am no antique expert.  As a matter of fact my husband wanted to throw one of the clocks away due to it's rather poor condition, but I wanted to know more about it as something told me it is a unique piece.  I would love to restore all of the pieces.  I will post photos however I do not have directory service at the time.  Give me two days top and I will have the photos available.

The first clock has an etching that appears to be colored in of the Smithsonian building in D.C.  The top panes of glass are broken, and we had to gently dissasmble the clock as it was on the verge of falling apart.  I was not risking damaging the intact etching.  I have all the pieces - the glass panes, including the molding that is missing from the the photos.  On the inside of this clock is a lithograph label of a train, below that stating the manufacturer Birge Peck Company of Bristol Conneticut with directions.  It is an 8 day clock.

Second clock is made by Southern Clock Company.  I am assuming it is rosewood, but I'm not certain.  This clock is in my opinion good condition.  The clock face has some wear, but the overall condition is pretty good in my opinion.  There is a very ornate gold etching on the front door with a crane at the bottom, arches, and an architectural element in the middle that is not in gold, but a red with some foliage.