Author Topic: Antique ebay picture  (Read 1795 times)

pastpal

• View Profile
Antique ebay picture
« on: November 24, 2008, 11:43:17 am »
Wanted to first say hello as I am new here. Been collecting antiques for awhile basically by my family giving them to me when they are no longer wanted so I am a complete newbie to any of this. So I thought I would join a forum and gather information by reading and posting. So, that's my story in a small nutshell  :)

The question I have is about a value of an ebay auction. I was cruising ebay over the weekend and noticed a really nice antique picture with convex glass. I love these kind of pictures. I do see them often in antique stores but the are usually small or tabletop varieties and they sell them for, in my opinion, a high price. This particular picture is a large one, hangs on the wall and states they think it's from around 1890's. Of course, it says it's haunted but outside of that it is a really nice picture. I don't believe in that stuff anyway.

My question is, the price they have is $99.00....is that a good price? What would a picture sell for normally of that size? It states it's 18"width and 24"length which is a pretty big picture I am thinking for this type of glass.

I don't want to post a link as I don't want to go against any rules but it is a current auction over on ebay. Can't remember when it ends. I think I typed in antique photo.

Any help would be appreciated.

D&b antiques

• View Profile
Re: Antique ebay picture
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2008, 11:56:24 am »
sight unseen not a bad price. no extra charge for the ''Haint'' ?

pastpal

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2008, 12:16:33 pm »
 :D People are funny aren't they?

I thought it was a good price too. It does look like the frame has been painted but I suppose it can be refinished. I've never been a fan of painting furniture.

D&b antiques

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2008, 12:29:18 pm »