Author Topic: Royal Doulton Dinner Set - Is a complete set more valuable?  (Read 3676 times)

JennyAnyDots

• View Profile
Royal Doulton Dinner Set - Is a complete set more valuable?
« on: October 01, 2009, 11:09:06 pm »
Hi there,  I'm completely new to the world of valuing antiques, so I apologise if my question is more complex than it need be.

I have recently moved overseas with all  my belongings, including my husband's heirloom set of dinnerware - which is a complete set, in an as-new condition. As a result of poor packing on the behalf of the shipping company four pieces were broken and I need to complete some claim forms for the insurance processes.   To cut a long story short, the insurance company is asking me to come up with the quotes for the replacement costs.  What I would love some advice on, is whether the set will have lost value overall, now that it is no longer 'complete', or, in the world of antiques, is a set still considered complete if the pieces may have come from different manufacturing batches.  I ask this because I notice that beside the standard Royal Doulton stamp and the identifying series name & number there are 2 hand-painted 'strokes' which seem uniform enough to indicate that the pieces are indeed part of a specific set.  I have attached a photo of the stamp and the 'strokes'.

Oh and it is Royal Doulton, pattern Orchid D5215 if that helps shed any light.

Thanks so much,

Jen

ironlord1963

• View Profile
    • Ironlord's Treasure Chest
Re: Royal Doulton Dinner Set - Is a complete set more valuable?
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2009, 08:29:37 am »
     First I would check out this site to give you a ideal of what the cost would be to replace your pieces.

http://www.replacements.com/webquote/RD_ORC.htm

If you look around Ebay you may be able to find them cheaper sooner or later, but when it comes to insurance you should use replacement cost.  They tend to be a bit more expensive, but that is what they do help you to complete a set.