Author Topic: A strange chair that I have, it rocks, and has lions heads carved in it.  (Read 2981 times)

P Robert

• View Profile
Hello everyone, my name is Patrick, I am a 29 year old welder from Wisconsin.  I have been going through some old family things trying to find out more about them, but one thing I always overlooked was this chair that I have.

I am pretty sure it is at least 100 years old, but I can't find a picture of anything that look even remotely like this.

I'm trying to figure somethings out, and I am starting right here. My biggest questions are:

1) What is a chair like this called?

2) Who made it?

3) Is it ok to have something like this restored? I really would like to use it more, but I am afraid of
    damaging it.

I took these pictures, and in addition to the pictures I can tell you there are no markings whatsoever
on the bottom, I thought there would be a brand name, or a persons name at least.

Any help answering these questions is greatly appreciated, I'll buy you a cheeseburger next time you're near Milwaukee

Thanks,   Patrick

D&b antiques

• View Profile
Re: A strange chair that I have, it rocks, and has lions heads carved in it.
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2009, 11:24:17 am »
The rocker is great the way it is. sometimes it's hard to put a name on unsigned furniture. it's likely to be the work of. S.A Cook who was working out of Medina New York. from 1890 to the 1930's. $350.00 +

Dean Perdue

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2009, 01:10:52 pm »
Hi Patrick-
Nice chair.
I agree with D&B on the issue of not restoring if it is structurally sound.
Really a thing of beauty seeing this good honest wear and I think the value will go down if you try to improve this look.

KC

• Forever Blessed!
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2009, 03:08:40 pm »
Totally agree with the others....do not refinish...you will most like devalue....will NOT add to value.