Author Topic: Louis XV style bombe marquetry commode - a reproduction???  (Read 1385 times)

iheartdesign

• View Profile
Louis XV style bombe marquetry commode - a reproduction???
« on: November 13, 2009, 08:13:21 am »
Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting here and I'm very new to the world of antiques, but I can't wait to learn more and welcome any feedback/advice anyone has to offer!!

I'm looking for a little help identifiying whether the commode I've just aquired is a real antique, an old reproduction, or a newer reproduction that was poorly cared for. I've done a ton of internet research over the past few days and still can't really tell what I have here. I'm hoping a few of you on this forum with more expierience could offer some guidence.

Style - from comparing my piece to others on the internet, I'm guessing its a Louis XV style bombe marquetry (or maybe parquetry because the veneer is more graphic than floral in nature) commode.

History - I salvaged this piece from an abandoned office space after employees and commercial furniture dealers declined to purchase it. From what I've heard, a former owner of the company brought it into the office space 15-20 years ago or so because his wife no longer wanted it.