Author Topic: Mauser  (Read 4365 times)

hosman321

• View Profile
Mauser
« on: December 18, 2009, 02:51:56 pm »
Hey, we are thinking of buying this rifle from someone off Craigslist. But we don't want to get ripped off. Anyone have an approximate value? And parts of it are more modern, we are ok with that. He said it's from the 40's, is that accurate?

http://seattle.craigslist.org/tac/bar/1516052896.html

waywardangler

Re: Mauser
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2009, 03:08:56 pm »
Guns are prohibited on craigslist.  I do not see how this could have been listed there.  Many Mausers were brought back and imported after the war.  Many were sporterized for hunting in the US. I have heard the actions are very good but I have no personal knowledge of their quality or prices.

railman44

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2009, 03:24:12 pm »
A genuine Mauser rifle which hasn't been messed with has one of the finest actions in the world.  Head space, etc. should be checked by a professional before shooting.

hosman321

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2009, 04:00:53 pm »
Yeah, it got flagged. Here are some more pics, we just want to know if it is a good deal.

syl

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2009, 04:45:48 pm »
How much did they want?

fancypants

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2009, 12:02:42 am »
I'm with railman44 on the Mauser action .

I had a 1889 original & pristine German 7mm long rifle , with a factory 'sharpshooter' crown , that would hit 3 out of 5 in a 5" @ a quarter of a mile . No kidding .

They're generally great guns , depending on what you intend on using it for (large game gun , mostly) .

Frankly , I don't like the look & feel of the  'sporterized' ones (like the one in the ad) ... but that's just me .

Mine was stolen during a residential burglary , along with an antique 12mm pinfire French revolver , at a relatives' house ....sigh ....