Author Topic: PLEASE HELP IDENTIFYING THIS  (Read 4670 times)

angelbrotherston

• View Profile
PLEASE HELP IDENTIFYING THIS
« on: August 24, 2010, 11:34:13 am »
Hi, yes, I am a newbie to this forum and to antiques, so please forgive my apparent lack of knowledge on this issue.  
My husband purchased this table at Goodwill and I am having a heck of a time finding any information as to it's origin, make etc.,
The only thing I do know is it's aprox 2 1/2 ft. Tall 2 ft across.  The flowers are raised and lumpy when you run your hand across them but don't appear to be painted on.  There are no markings anywhere that I can see.  What has piqued my interest other than general knowledge on the item is the fact that a gentleman followed my husband out to his vehicle after purchasing this table and offered to buy it from him on the spot.  Any information will be greatly appreciated... Thanks so much,  Angel
« Last Edit: August 24, 2010, 11:57:17 am by angelbrotherston »

KC

• Forever Blessed!
    • View Profile
Re: PLEASE HELP IDENTIFYING THIS
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2010, 10:23:21 pm »
Appears to me to be tole painting on a mid 1900's table.

NIce looking piece!
I'm from the South - but please don't mistake my Southern Manners/Accent/Charm as a weakness!

angelbrotherston

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 03:24:10 am »
Thanks KC,  would you happen to know the proper name for the foot/leg design on this table? 

cogar

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2010, 03:28:21 am »
Queen Anne leg

NastyNate

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2010, 11:19:52 am »
Exquisite piece. I have been followed by people numerous times at garage sales and flea markets. Recently one guy started to try and out bid me at a garage sale. Thankfully the guy who was selling it wanted no part in it. If you dont mind me asking how much did you pay?

sapphire

• Without direction, we are lost.
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2010, 08:53:06 pm »