Author Topic: Grandfather clock age and value  (Read 6126 times)

woodsy pete

• View Profile
Grandfather clock age and value
« on: October 20, 2010, 07:07:42 pm »
Wondering if anyone would happen to know the approximate age and value of my grandfather clock.  It's been in the family for generations and came across the ocean from Germany. It still works good and keeps time quite well. Any help would be MUCH appreciated! No identification tags, numbers, stamps or words.

Thanks in advance,

Pete

ironlord1963

• View Profile
    • Ironlord's Treasure Chest
Re: Grandfather clock age and value
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2010, 07:25:29 pm »
    I am by no means a expert here, but just had to say wow.  Really Wow, this is sure to be a good thread.

waywardangler

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2010, 09:16:07 pm »
I agree with ironlord that this is a very nice clock!  No markings on any of the metal clockworks?  Some makers put their marks on the internal plates that are not visible unless it is taken apart.  I do not understand why they would do that.  I think the font style of the numbers around the roman numerals may be a key as to age.

woodsy pete

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2010, 03:40:37 am »
Thanks for the compliments!  After work today I'll pull the top off again and get out the flashlight and small mirror and see if I can get into the mechanics of it a little deeper to look for id marks.

Pete

wendy177

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2010, 04:23:00 am »
Good idea Pete a little round dentist mirror with the long handle would help. beautiful piece!!!!

gingertomantiques

• View Profile
    • GINGER TOM ANTIQUES
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2010, 04:59:51 am »
from the pics my gut feeling is
German round top floor clock. circa 1900, oak veneer over pine case made for export