Author Topic: Can anyone help me with info on this Antique porcelain tea set  (Read 4251 times)

Pringleplace

• View Profile
Can anyone help me with info on this Antique porcelain tea set
« on: February 22, 2011, 02:47:57 am »
A friend of mine has this set that his parents bought in the early 20th Century. It is Alka Bavaria and the pattern is called Rosemarie.

The pic is a sample of the cup only,

He has the teapot, sugar bowl, milk jug and six cups and saucers - all in perfect condition, not one crack nick or blemish of any sort.

My questions are: What is the value of such a Tea set?
I cannot find this particular pattern anywhere on the net, similar ones but not this exact one - so I am wondering if it is very rare?
Is the gold in this actually real gold? I see that some of the other gold pieces in similar designs are 20 ct gold.
Lastly, is there a market for this set?

I am new in this antique field, have learnt a lot already in one week! But I do need help!!

Thanks

gingertomantiques

• View Profile
    • GINGER TOM ANTIQUES
Re: Can anyone help me with info on this Antique porcelain tea set
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2011, 05:34:28 am »
The good news is it has a value, the bad its not high.
This is really a cabinet piece as if used the gold gilding would soon wear. It does contain gold but not of great value.
Against it the pattern is very plain, the shape is common, the maker is not really collectable,
for it is is complete & perfect
UK auction £20 - £40
« Last Edit: February 22, 2011, 05:36:38 am by gingertomantiques »

KC

• Forever Blessed!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2011, 11:56:26 pm »
Referring to our dear friend, Chris, and his site......Porcelain Marks and More

http://www.porcelainmarksandmore.com/bavaria/kronach_1/00.php

Please post a picture of the makers mark!
I'm from the South - but please don't mistake my Southern Manners/Accent/Charm as a weakness!

Pringleplace

• View Profile