Author Topic: Vitrine/Curio Cabinet  (Read 6118 times)

janicelawsmith

• View Profile
Vitrine/Curio Cabinet
« on: April 18, 2011, 01:19:52 pm »
Can anyone tell me about this cabinet? It has 3 doors with beveled glass, looks to be bronze trim and a marble top. The only markings on the piece are on the locks. They are stamped V.F. Paris with two crossed keys. It's about 52" long, 17" wide and the height is 44".
« Last Edit: April 18, 2011, 02:35:35 pm by janicelawsmith »

mariok54

• View Profile
Re: Vitrine/Curio Cabinet
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2011, 01:39:53 pm »

The pictures could be a little clearer, but it looks like you've got a very nice French ormolu mounted cabinet there. These can fetch nice prices, but it does all depend upon condition etc.
I'm no expert, but probably latter quarter of the 19th century?
What do the others think?

Close up photos possible?

mart

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2011, 03:38:11 pm »
Appears to be French Empire but I would think that some of the gold would still show !! Wonder why it doesn`t ?? She said it looks like bronze !! Would all the ormolu have worn off do you think ?? I know its a thin layer but should be able to see it in the crevaces !!

mariok54

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2011, 12:22:27 am »
You could be right, Mart. I thought that it was just a combination of the photos and my eyesight, and I seem to have totally ignored the bit that said ... 'looks to be bronze trim ...'  ::)

Some of the late 19th c examples didn't have the same impact as earlier pieces as they had to stop using mercury in the process ... but then that process did have a different name.....? We used to have an old turn of the century clock which was mounted with later 'ormolu' and which looked very dull (and was totally unreliable).

Looking at the photos with fresher, morning eyes, it does seem very bronzey ... 

janicelawsmith

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2011, 05:17:47 am »