Author Topic: Help me value a Singer sewing Machine  (Read 5070 times)

CuriousCollector

• View Profile
Help me value a Singer sewing Machine
« on: May 19, 2011, 05:31:47 pm »
So, I'm a part-time real estate agent, and I'm listing a house where the owners died, and the heirs don't want much to do with what remains.  I was thinking of making an offer on this Singer sewing machine.  The strap that connects the foot pedal to the sewing machine is broken (easily replaced, I guess), but otherwise it appears to function.

What should I offer for it?  Any ideas? 

There are also two interesting chairs I might post later. 

hosman321

• View Profile
Re: Help me value a Singer sewing Machine
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2011, 05:36:39 pm »
Maximum of $80 in my area (Seattle), more realistically about $60.

talesofthesevenseas

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2011, 06:28:30 pm »
Yes, you can pick up the belts on Ebay for just a couple of bucks. I can even send you one of mine if you have trouble finding one. Treadle machines are a joy to sew on. I love mine and will never go back to a modern one again. It is a wonderfully reliable workhorse. I can't say enough how great these old machines are. They truly are an undiscovered treasure. You can also find out what needles it uses and other through the ISMACS forum. In my area I'm seeing more of these that are functional, and the prices can be about $200 if in good, working condition, (not just moving up and down)

http://www.ismacs.net/home.html

Look inside the bobbin compartment. You should see a bullet-shaped casing. This is what holds the bobbin. The bobbins do not look like modern ones they are spindle bobbins:

Antiqueaholic in recovery

Oceans64

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2011, 06:44:24 pm »