Author Topic: Old Pair of Hensoldt/Wetzlar binoculars.  (Read 3422 times)

Wizgot

• View Profile
Old Pair of Hensoldt/Wetzlar binoculars.
« on: July 28, 2011, 11:18:49 am »
First off, I'm not even sure you would consider the binoculars I have as an antique. I am not an expert but they do look slightly old fashioned and belonged to my great grandfather (and by the looks of them they weren't used much) from whom I inherited them.

Now to the binoculars. They have their original case. The binoculars have a slim form to them, not like the bulky ones you see today, and are colored black. There is a logo by the eye piece that says "Hensoldt/Wetzlar" and to the right of this it states the power (7x42 dialyt). Markings continue to show up. It has engraved onto it "made in Germany" and its serial # (822011). My grandfather told me that his father bought them in the 50's. I think they are worth something because I had a look on Ebay and saw a similar pair go for $400. I don't think mine are worth that much but they are in pristine condition. That's about it. Yesterday I uploaded some photos of it onto flikr so if you would be so kind as to check them out...........

Case: http://www.flickr.com/photos/65708874@N03/5983964702/in/photostream

Binoculars : http://www.flickr.com/photos/65708874@N03/5983969576/in/photostream

Logo and power engravings : http://www.flickr.com/photos/65708874@N03/5983410873/in/photostream

Serial and Location Made : http://www.flickr.com/photos/65708874@N03/5983420339/in/photostream

Thanks for looking into this and any information about a price would be much appreciated. :)

waywardangler

Re: Old Pair of Hensoldt/Wetzlar binoculars.
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2011, 01:09:45 pm »