Author Topic: Antique Hexagon Side Table  (Read 1771 times)

wldrnsqltr

• View Profile
Antique Hexagon Side Table
« on: August 08, 2011, 01:20:15 pm »
I got this hexagon side table almost 30 years ago from an elderly neighbor, who said she brought it as a new bride from Norway at least 50 years before that. It measures about 29 inches across and about 29 inches high and is dark wood with ornamentation etched around the outer part of the top surface. The six legs are somewhat decorative but connected to one another with straight pieces. I'd like to find out more about it - origin, style, date, value. I've been searching without success. I guess beings I'm new to all this, I don't know what terms to use to get useful search results. Anyway, any help or direction anyone here can provide will be much appreciated. Thanks!

mart

• View Profile
Re: Antique Hexagon Side Table
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2011, 01:39:41 pm »
Could we get a pic of that top ??  Its a beautiful old table but would be hard to identify without something written on the table itself !!  As far as style,, it seems that the ones that we know did not extend to the Norwegian countries !!  Or if they did it was only slightly !! They have always had a unique flair that was theirs alone !!  If I were to guess based on just what I can see I would say that its from around 1900 or so !!  Value wise,, not a lot in my opinion and I would say $300. or less !! Still it is a very nice piece and well worth keeping !!
« Last Edit: August 08, 2011, 01:42:07 pm by mart »

wldrnsqltr

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2011, 02:42:50 pm »
Ok - here's a picture of the top. Guess I should have polished it first - oops. And the rosy glow is reflection from the curtain in the background - the true color is what's seen at the bottom of the picture. Also, I got a shot of the bottom and a close-up of the remains of a label of some sort.

mart

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2011, 06:12:28 pm »