Author Topic: VERY, VERY, old cherry wood dinning set  (Read 2191 times)

moose1977

• View Profile
    • http://
VERY, VERY, old cherry wood dinning set
« on: July 16, 2004, 01:25:54 am »
My uncle's grandmother purchased a used cherry wood buffet table, dinning table w/ leaf and middle leg, and china cabinet. All matching set.  It was purchased when he was just a small child or maybe even before he was born. Any way, he inherited it after she passed some years ago.
It's still in excellent condition. We searched for any writing or company name on every peice of it, but found nothing. Any advise on how to research this would be a blessing. I'm new to this and have no idea where to begin.
So far we estimate possibly early 1900's or earlier. But as I said before, I need advise, any advise would help.

Thanx in advance...

D&b antiques

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2004, 04:15:37 am »
:o well that's not and easy question. style and construction can say alot. is the top plank boards or solid board ?  how thick are they? do they appear to be rough cut underneath the top? can you see' circular saw marks anywhere on the boards. is there a leaf? if so any metal tracks ?

moose1977

• View Profile
    • http://
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2004, 05:39:33 am »
No metal racks, no saw marks, or rough sides anywhere.
It weighs a ton. The boards are at least an inch and a half thick or more.
With big round legs, and engravings around the top just under the top board. It has a door on each end with two shelves inside.  With drawers stacked down through the middle, and the last drawer is hidden and can be locked.
The top board is solid  

JKoski53

• View Profile
    • http://www.thestarlitecafe.com/poems/83/poem_628820.html<br>
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2004, 08:38:42 am »
Hi There,